Review: One by @escarterauthor

one E.S. Carter.jpg

I don’t normally seek out M/M romance novels, but I was in a book-rut. You know. I sometimes get into that phase during a long weekend, when one’s reading one book after another and then, suddenly, all the stories just sound and look the same.

Enter: “One” by E.S. Carter.

Take a gander at its blurb:


One click.
One perfect frame.
That’s all it takes to capture an eternal moment; although most people let them pass by without acknowledgement.
I don’t waste any.
Not a single one.
If I see something of beauty, I want to experience it, feel it and immortalise it.
If I see someone of beauty, I want to taste them, worship them and memorise them.
I don’t have a type, if I like you, I like you.
I don’t have a preference.
My bisexuality is a gift, not a defect.
It’s the freedom to see beyond gender.
One blink.
One touch.
One night.
Life is filled with so many ones.
One chance to get things right.
One life to live as you choose.
One decision that gives you acceptance.
One person to fill the emptiness.
Just one?
Nah, like I said, life is full of ones.
My camera lets me focus on the good times; I develop from life’s negatives, and if things don’t work out, I just take another shot.
Who needs just one?


Sounds interesting, I thought.

I started reading it at 4pm. Then, I skipped dinner. Barely even went to the loo. By the time 9pm rolled around, I was buying the other books in the series (except for the first book, “Nineteen,” which is not rated as high as the rest of the “Numbers” books). In fact, I just finished reading the latest installment, “Eight,” but, frankly, 8 is not as good as 1.

I can’t stop thinking of “One.” The sexy parts were smokin’ hot, sure, but it’s how the author was able to pull me into a story about 2 men that blew me away. I realize that Ms. Carter used the same technique in the succeeding book, “Eight,” where she makes one of the parties in the main couple featured in the book super reluctant about entering into a relationship again, and then suddenly assigns an abrupt 180-degree change of personality for the same character, all in the space of a few e-pages. It’s a head-scratching technique and when it became glaringly obvious in “Eight,” it became totally unconvincing. However, with “One,” Flynn Phillips’ transition from straight homophobic male who had extreme sexual feelings for Isaac Fox to emotionally-mature 21st-century lover worked, particularly because Ms. Carter gave us readers a gap of time between the men’s initial meetings to Flynn’s “reawakening.”

“One” is beautifully written, a book I’d recommend anyone who loves reading good love stories. It’s timely, romantic, and sweet.5 stars

Leave a Reply

