Review: Twisted Palace by @authorerinwatt

twisted palace erin watt.jpg

Yes, I’ve skipped reviewing Broken Prince, book 2 in “The Royals” series. Please don’t crucify me. I just got too excited about finding out how Reed Royal and Ella Harper would discover who the real murdering culprit was and how they got to their HEA. Hence, here we are now at the end of book 3, “Twisted Palace.”

Can I tell you something first, though? Thank god I started reading this on Labor Day weekend! I finished all 3 books in 2 days. Yesterday, I spent 10 hours with books 1 to almost the end of book 3, because this girl’s gotta sleep at 2am already. In case you were wondering, let me share that I spent the holiday with my mama. We, unfortunately, did not eat any meals together, and hardly even spoke to one another. She binge-watched The Crown and I binge-read The Royals. Are you sensing a pattern? Granted, both series are completely unrelated, but when I realized what we both did, it was definitely a SMH moment. LOL!

Anyhoo, Twisted Palace is the culmination of Reed and Ella’s story, which was chock-full of sexy times, romance, intrigue, murder, mystery, and teenage angst. In short, it was AWESOMESAUCE. What I completely loved about it is that even though I’ve read almost all of Jen Frederick and Elle Kennedy’s individually-published books, I couldn’t “hear” any warring or jarring individual voices in any of The Royals books. D’ya know what I mean? It’s like Ms. Frederick and Ms. Kennedy volted into one being, i.e., Erin Watt, and just wrote a seamless tale. One that I completely lost myself in. One that I adored to bits.

So, why just 4-stars then? I just felt that the ending was a bit rushed. To find out who Brooke’s real murderer was the way that Ella did was a shocker, sure, but I found it to be too…. how do I explain it? Last minute, perhaps? It was at the 97% mark of the e-book. Don’t get me wrong, though. I’m glad the author/s found a way to give us the HEA at the end of the book that they promised it would be in. I just thought maybe all the superfluous scenes coulda been edited out (e.g., the Winter Formal). I would have loved an epilogue to Reed and Ella’s story (e.g., after high school, after college, etc.), too. But, hey, maybe that’s just me.

To be clear, however, please note that I’m not complaining. I really, really, really LIKED this, despite the fact that they’re YA books, which if you’ve read my blog before, I’m kinda allergic to. I’m gearing my wallet up and praying to the credit card gods right now, so that I can pre-order Ms. Watt’s next book. It costs 2 bucks more than each of The Royals books, but I’m positive it’ll be great! In the meantime, please excuse me while I torture myself and read Chapter 4 of Gideon and Savannah’s novelette from Ms. Watt’s website.4 stars

Leave a Reply

