Review: Provocative by @LisaReneeJones

Provocative Final Border

When I received this ARC of Lisa Renee Jones’ “Provocative,” I honestly don’t know what I was thinking. If you’ve read my blog before, you’d know how I avoid books with cliffhangers like they’re the resurrection of The Plague. However, I can add this, too: HOLY GOD ABOVE, thank goodness I got to read this in advance!

Provocative is a story filled with lies, deception, and love. In short, it’s my kinda story. Faith Winter and Nick “Tiger” Rogers are tied together by secrets and lust. At least, that’s how they started. Goody-two-shoes Faith is holding on to her father’s legacy, a Sonoma Valley winery, by the tip of her chinny-chin-chin. She’s also trying to revive her almost-dead art career. If I were her, I’d do the same as she did: sell some art to pay back her winery creditors. Plus, the way Ms. Jones described Faith? Makes me wanna be friends with her. She’s portrayed well, in my opinion, as she’s no simpering damsel-in-distress. Faith’s counterpart, Nick, seemingly holds all the keys to the unfolding of their relationship. He turned it from a plain one-night-stand to a “she’s mine” type of full-time obsession. Which, by the way, I luuuuuved. Alpha males, like Nick, with knights-in-blindingly-shiny-armors hidden inside them, make the best male leads, as far as I’m concerned. In my mind, he’s Bradley Cooper/Matthew McConaughey mix.

I was sliding right along with the angst, lust, and love that Nick was feeling as he narrated parts of his story with Faith, when Provocative, sadly ended. Ms. Jones segued into a surprise addition at the end (an erotic tale featuring a character who was the subject of a painting Nick bought and who had also appeared in Ms. Jones “Inside Out” series. I chose not to read that yet, because… ehem, I haven’t read the Inside Out books 4 starsyet. *GASP* What?! Yes, I haven’t, but don’t worry, if you haven’t either, I still suggest you follow in my eager-beaver footsteps and get Provocative, because you won’t get lost, I promise.

Now, allz we gotta do is wait until July when book 2, Shameless, comes out.

ShamelessFinal_4

P.S. Augh! The agony of waiting!

waiting

Leave a Reply

