Review: The Goal by Elle Kennedy

Screenshot 2016-10-19 20.14.37.png

The term “good ol’ boys” in America has recently made me realize that it’s not such a great description of a modern American man. If delineated as such, then it connotes that the man’s a pushover, a mama’s boy, someone who doesn’t have a direction and needs a partner who’s emotionally stronger than he is in order to take charge of… well, everything. Well, I disagree. Elle Kennedy has given us a picture of a true “good boy” who proves that good guys DO finish first. That the one who’s perceived to be more than good enough to take home to see mama is a winner, winner, steak dinner.

The Goal,” sadly, is the final book in the “Off Campus” arc. It tells the story of John Tucker and Sabrina James, two unlikely people who would become lovers, then friends, and eventually, each other’s forever and happily-ever-afters. What I especially loved about Ms. Kennedy’s final installment is that she featured a female main character who knows what she wants and needs, knows how to get it, works extremely hard to get to her personal goal, and knows to rely on herself. It hit me in the last few pages of the book – Sabrina, in a conversation with Tucker’s antagonistic and understandably overprotective mother, said she doesn’t need Tuck. She wants him – a crucial difference and a choice she has consciously made knowing all the pros and cons. Someone on Goodreads commented that she found Sabrina frustrating, because it’s so obvious she needed help but was reluctant to ask for it (a.k.a. stubborn pride). On this, I humbly disagree with my fellow reviewer. My reasons – one: Sabrina is a fictional character, but she epitomizes many people who grew up in real similar situations as she did. Pride is, oftentimes, all they really have. Reality is: if someone in need is reluctant to ask for help, then I am of the supposition that their reluctance is warranted. As in, they’ve asked for it before and were shot down so badly time and time again. I don’t get why people of privilege can look down on others who fight tooth and nail for themselves. Two: better that she’s self-reliant and stubbornly proud, than be a whiny/bratty/shouty twenty-something woman. The latter paints a clichéd picture of the modern woman that gets my blood boiling hotter than Tom Hiddleston’s trademark smirk. So, if Sabrina James were a real character, then sign me up as a major fan and wannabe-friend.

As for Tucker – ooohh wee. If one is ever in a tough or tight spot, then Tucker is the guy you want beside, behind, and in front of you. He is the stuff women’s dreams are made of. ‘Nuff said.

Too bad he’s also fictional.

“My goal, once upon a time, was to succeed. I didn’t realize that success wasn’t grades or scholarships or achievements, but the people I was lucky enough to have in my life.”

I cannot express how happy I am to have bought this book. Not only is it amaze-5 starsballs, but I got the e-book version with the original man-abs cover, to complete my collection. To the publisher who decided to change the cover to a woman with crossed legs: booooooooooooo!!!

Leave a Reply

