Continued – Review: Playboy Pilot by Penelope Ward & Vi Keeland

Okay, so sorry for the abrupt ending to my previous post – had to pick up the fam, but I couldn’t stop myself from briefly logging on earlier to try and wax poetic about my love for authors Penelope Ward and Vi Keeland’s latest collaborative work: Playboy Pilot.

Individually, I think that Ms. Keeland is the better writer of the two, but that’s just my biased opinion. Ms. Ward has written 2 books by herself that I hated so much that I couldn’t stomach keeping them in my e-reader. Together, though, they are unbeatable. They mix humor, drama, and romance so eloquently that it’s really difficult to put their books down once you start reading them. That’s precisely what happened to me last night. I started Playboy Pilot at 8pm and ended it sometime past midnight. While it started a bit wobbly, where the titular playboy pilot, Captain Carter Clynes (a.k.a. Triple C or Trip), meets and attempts to pick up Texan heiress, Kendall Sparks, it ended strongly and wonderfully.

In between the beginning and the end, Carter and Kendall take us around the world, from Miami to Rio de Janeiro to Dubai (where the heroine was almost jailed for dancing/swaying on her feet to music in public) to Amsterdam to New York to Boston, and finally, to Sydney. There were weird twists (see the mini “Locked Up Abroad” episode mentioned above) and LOL episodes, i.e., Carter’s declaration of love via a sky banner that reads: “The Answer is in Disguise – Ken Doll Loves Farting.” There were predictable reactions from Kendall and surprising behavior from our playboy. I thought there was going to be a plane crash, but thank goodness, there wasn’t.

Let me pause for a moment and allow ourselves a look at Ward and Keeland’s physical embodiment of the fictional pilot. I present to you: Sahib Faber.

 

*SIGH*

Okay, so where am I? Oh, yes. If you haven’t caught on yet, then let me be blunt. “Playboy Pilot” is worth every single penny you’ll spend to get this either in your e-bookshelf or physical bookshelf. It’s THAT good.5 stars

Leave a Reply

