Review: Golden Trail by Kristen Ashley

Screenshot 2016-09-01 12.02.22.png

I really liked this one, Kristen Ashley. It was heaps full of drama, mayhem, comedy, intensity, me-man-you-Jane dialogue, heartbreak, chaos… in short, it was full of life. “Golden Trail” isn’t one for the faint-hearted. Book hero, Tanner Layne (a.k.a. “Layne”) juggles life’s ups and downs like a woman. And, my being a woman, you know I’m paying fictional Layne a huge compliment. I won’t bother enumerating his toils and troubles for you, dear reader, I’ll just say he’s got a lot going on.

His counterpart, Racquel “Rocky” Merrick-Astley, was his one-time yet forever love. I spent some precious minutes not liking this woman, then I realized, “oh, Ms. Ashley made her human.” Nonetheless, I won’t lie: Rocky was a “rocky” character – she is a not-so-nice depiction of a 21st century woman closing in on her 40s. She annoyed me at times, she annoyed Layne at times, and maybe she’ll annoy you, too, at times. Keep in mind, however, that without her, we’ll have no book, so whatevs, right? She’s also a good girl, a seemingly good high school teacher, one who cares. A lot. Too much, sometimes, that she gets in her and in Layne’s ways. In fact……… nah, no, I’m not gonna spoil it for anyone. Just trust me: you, I, and Layne will never be satisfied with Rocky’s first explanation to Layne on why she broke it off with him while they were in their early 20s. But, then again, you’d probably also be like me, if you’re as big of a Kristen Ashley fanatic as I am, you’d know that this is how Ms. Ashley develops her characters. In the end, it’s all good.

4 starsThe term “Golden Trail” also isn’t a blatantly obvious description of the book. When I read thru the whole thing, though, I felt that same golden trail going down my spine. I hope you will, too.

Leave a Reply

