Review: The Shameless Hour by Sarina Bowen

Screenshot 2016-08-27 22.15.22.png

I read the third book in “The Ivy Years” series last year and enjoyed it immensely. However, I read “Understatement of the Year” out of sequence. Confession: I just finished reading books 1 to 2.5 in the last week. Then, I totally got hooked.

So hooked that I had to (finally) re-charge my e-reader and write down my awesome-sauce type of thoughts, which are enumerated below:

  1. Sarina Bowen, where have you been all my life? The Ivy Years books are THE books to beat, in my estimation. You are, currently, rocking my brain out of its skeletal confinement. Said brain was so completely rocked out that it took me 3 days to dig myself out of my Harkness College obsession and write this ode soliloquy to you.
  2. The fourth book in the series, “The Shameless Hour,” is, thus far, my favorite. Author Tammara Webber described it as “a gift to anyone who’s ever been slut-shamed.” I, for one, while having never had the distinction of being a slut or a sexual person in general and in real life, can oddly relate. Behold: Me, a quirky book nerd slash blogger – and the result of traumatizing bullying and fat-shaming. I think anyone who’s ever been bullied in school, no matter if they were bullied in small/”funny” or in large/immoral/illegal/unethical ways, can relate to Bella. Thank you for making her your heroine. And, for making her a fighter. While some aspects of her life are ideal (i.e., great friends such as Rafe, Lianne, Graham, Rikker, and the rest of the Harkness men’s hockey team; wealthy family), she epitomizes a reality that is, sadly, still true today. Social and gender-based double standards are frustrating. Hopefully, through the stories you write and tell, Sarina Bowen, we all will, someday, understand that love is love is love.
  3. I’m in love with Rafael “Rafe” Santiago. I wish he was a real person. ‘Nuff said.

“The Shameless Hour” is a five friggin’ stars book – especially after all the shit I read prior to re-taking up The Ivy Years series. It’s the equivalent of a glassful of champagne after a long ass week. Now, please excuse me. I need a mofongo recipe.5 stars

Leave a Reply

