Review: The Obsession by Nora Roberts

Screenshot 2016-08-17 09.25.12.png

I’ve been absent from my blog for days. It’s a tragedy, because I’ve drowned not only in sewage water walking on the streets of Metro Manila recently, but also in extremely bad books. They were so bad, I just gave them a 1-star rating on Goodreads, deleted them all from my e-reader, chilled a bottle of wine, and just stopped. Then, I looked back through my TBR list and realized that I haven’t read Nora Roberts‘ “The Obsession” yet. Thank goodness I kept this one in the metaphorical back-pocket for my enjoyment during/after bad-book-rainy-days. I desperately needed it.

Ms. Roberts writes damned good books. If you’ve read her for over 20 years, like I have, you start seeing a pattern in her books. Frankly, I don’t mind that I’m onto her formula, because her form of entertainment is my cuppa tea. Plus, her writing is what I grew up on. I’ll never tire of it. I just fervently wish, hope, and pray they don’t make this one into another bad made-for-TV movie. Casting a heavily Botoxed Heather Locklear in “Angels Fall” was bad enough, but having Eddie Cibrian and LeAnn Rimes star in Northern Lights was the clincher.

5 starsI can’t say anything about this book other than it’s worth the 5-stars I’m giving it, because it got me out of a heavy-bad-book-schlump, the story is great, and the characters didn’t make me wanna commit murder (i.e., annoying best girlfriends who push their fellow girlfriends into relationships or sex). Without Nora Roberts and her alter-ego, J.D. Robb, my life would be stuck forever in tagging numerous books as “DNF” on GR. For that reason alone, I say “go buy Nora Roberts books.” You won’t regret it.

 

Leave a Reply

