Review: Bossman by Vi Keeland

Screenshot 2016-07-20 07.39.52.png

It takes skill, thought, compassion, and heart to write a book that weaves together 2 main characters into a funny, dramatic, bone-tickling, sexy, and romantic story. Vi Keeland has all that, plus the talent for words and humor (not the cute-sy patoot-sy type) to boot. Her latest, “Bossman,” epitomizes all the adjectives that I’ve thrown at it, and more.

quotation markMs. Keeland is so adept at tempering her readers’ emotions, that I would be reading her books again and again… and never get tired of them.

Chase Parker and Reese Annesley met in a setting that’s as bad and embarrassing way as it could possibly be, that I had to mentally prepare myself against hating the heroine (again) too much that I’d stop reading another book I’ve purchased. I shouldn’t have worried. Ms. Keeland is so adept at tempering her readers’ emotions, that I would be reading her books again and again… and never get tired of them. While heroine Reese has her own quirks and bratty moments, I couldn’t help but root for her. Her backstory is heartbreaking, and at the end of the day, I understood why a woman like her would over-protect herself, to the point of emotional sabotage. Chase’s backstory, meanwhile, dragged me all the way thru the night to finish this book. And, I went willingly. I, literally, couldn’t put it down. His POVs in the book dated back 6-7 years prior to his meeting Reese. His backstory’s resolution was, honestly, not something I saw coming. If Reese’s story was heartbreaking, Chase’s is gut-wrenching and soul-burning. The book’s climax and denouement were just perfect.

In one word, “Bossman” is epic. I’ll be reading it again, after I re-read The Baller: A Down and Dirty Football Novel. Maybe at Christmastime. Call it a gift to myself, with my e-book reader in one hand, a champagne-filled glass in the other. Why? Because I made a great decision when I opted to try out Ms. Keeland’s books.

Leave a Reply

