Excited to try out The Pioneer Woman’s recipes!

thepioneerwomancooks5001.jpg

That’s my new idol, right there

Pssst. Can I just tell you my latest obsession? Ohmigod. Soup! SOUP, for cryin’ out loud. The wet season is upon us here in Southeast Asia, so a hearty bowl (or two or five) of hot soup is a must-have during dinner, in my opinion. While it doesn’t get as cold as this on a wet day in my neck of the woods, the rain sure does get me down once in a while.

Another obsession? And, this one is kinda new… The Pioneer Woman! I just got her first cookbook (please see above); insert <sheer geeky excitement> here. I’m already writing down my grocery listssss, and checking them twice. Gonna find out how naughty and not nice I can be with my body in the next week or so with this one.

As soon as I got it on my e-reader, I immediately searched for “Chicken and Dumplings,” the one I saw on her cooking show (season 8, episode “Kitchen Confessional: Comfort Food”). Alas, it’s not there. 😦 Hence, I’m reduced to saving that FoodNetwork recipe on my iPad, and will be referring to it this weekend. Or, as soon as I figure out what turmeric is. Whichever comes first.

In honor of my obsession with Mrs. Ree Drummond, soup, and chicken, I’d like to do something highly unusual on a book blog. Yes, I’m gonna share a Kim-tried-and-tested recipe – featuring chicken. Not soup. Just chicken semi-stew (I guess)? I don’t know what to call it (or how to categorize it), but it tastes grrreat. I should know: I’ve been eating it for this past week since I got 800 grams of chicken thighs on sale last weekend… and it’s all just for me.

You ready? Here goes:
**Kim’s Tried-and-True Chicken Dinner**
An idiot-proof chicken dinner that captures everything Asian.
Servings = 2
Time = 30mins
Difficulty = easy
Credit: all my female ancestors

Ingredients:
– 2 teaspoons vegetable oil
– 1 small onion, coarsely chopped
– 1 thumb-sized fresh ginger, cut into very fine strips
– 2 cloves garlic, finely chopped
– 4 small chicken thighs, cut into 1-inch cubes
– 1 tablespoon soy sauce
– 1 tablespoon white vinegar
– 1 teaspoon brown sugar
– 1 teaspoon Chinese chili sauce
– 1/2 cup water
– salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

  1. Heat the oil in a small 20-cm skillet.
  2. Cook the onion and ginger until fragrant and slightly caramelized.
  3. Add the garlic until it’s cooked, but not burnt.
  4. Stir in the chicken until all sides of the chicken pieces are browned.
  5. Salt and pepper the chicken in the pan to taste. Note: Don’t put too much salt as you’re going to add soy sauce in a bit.
  6. Add in the soy sauce, vinegar, sugar, and chili sauce. Stir until the chicken pieces are all coated.
  7. Add in the water. Simmer the chicken for about 15 minutes until it’s fully cooked.
  8. Garnish if you want, but I eat it exactly like this, with the chicken and its sauce drizzled on top of hot, white rice.

I could share a photo of it with you… except that I’ve already eaten it all. Oops. Next time when I get the urge to cook. Who knows? Maybe I’ll even learn how to do that fancy recipe card widget thingie by then!

Leave a Reply

