Review: Moonshot by Alessandra Torre

Screenshot 2016-07-06 19.01.20.png

Alessandra Torre’s highly anticipated new book, Moonshot, is unique. At least for me. It’s slightly reminiscent of that TV show on Showtime, “The Affair,” where the viewers/readers are torn: who do we root for here? The heroine, Tyler “Ty” Rollins, and her husband, WhatsHisFace Grant, are certainly not admirable for the way they portray marriage. The hero, Chase Stern, is your typical bad-boy pro athlete turned love-lorn secret. I tried to empathize with Ty and Chase’s love-story redemption, but it was just… too realistic, I suppose.

 photo blonde girl kiss_zpsis769tqq.gif

I’m a cheesy fan of happy-ever-afters. There’s no doubt of that. I’m also a huge fan of Ms. Torre’s. Again, no doubts would ever put a shadow on my fanaticism for all things Alessandra Torre. Black Lies was, is, and I think, forever will be, THE standard I judge all books against. This one, “Moonshot,” is no exception to that inevitable self-enforced rule.

Ms. Torre’s the premier writer who wields her pen (or, most likely, her typewriting fingers) in such a way that readers shouldn’t hold on to expectations.

Were there surprises laid out for us in Moonshot? Yes. There were definitely a few loop-3 starsthrowing moments. Ms. Torre’s the premier writer who wields her pen (or, most likely, her typewriting fingers) in such a way that readers shouldn’t hold on to expectations. Case in point: the presence of the little boy in Ty’s short life as queen of the New York Yankees. In my presumptions of who the boy was, I zigged, while Ms. Torre zagged. As soon as I picked myself up off the proverbial floor after that little looper, it fell away from my chair again upon my discovery of who the killer was (please read the blurb if you don’t get what I mean). Ms. Torre is one of the few people I’d “allow” to pull the rug out from under me. So much so that I was expecting Ty’s redemption as a pedestal-worthy book girlfriend to be, well, more jaw-dropping than the reality that fictional character faced. Oh, well. I guess, in the end, everyone got his/her HEA. That should be enough.

One thought on “Review: Moonshot by Alessandra Torre

Leave a Reply

