One Night of Sin by Elle Kennedy VS. *ANYTHING* by Alexa Riley

Screenshot 2016-06-27 19.21.10.png

I bought Elle Kennedy’s “One Night of Sin” because I like short stories that are fast to read and are as hotchacha as peppers.

Big Mistake.

I had to really think why I didn’t like this. I just finished Alexa Riley’s “Lassoing the Virgin Mail Order Bride,” and despite the derogatory title, I liked that one just fine. So, here’s the result of my self-analysis:

  1. I’m weird. I don’t like it when the girl does the chasing or begging in my romance novels. I’m a STAUNCH feminist, but I dunno… I just think that if the guy is not into you, he is NOT into you, so stop chasing. It’s neither romantic nor sexy, in my opinion. And, if he comes crawling back? MAKE HIM CRAWL. Sheesh. A little self-respect, please. Women CAN control sexual urges. If you can’t, take a pill. #SorryNotSorry
  2. I like alpha heroes with sad backgrounds, but I don’t like it when they’re portrayed as wussies who change their minds constantly (i.e., he loves her, he loves her not). Alexa Riley’s heroes? They know what they want, and they go after it. Or rather, who they want. No ifs, ands, or buts about it. Wait. Okay, maybe a little but(t). Teehee!
  3. I like smutty yet romantic books. Elle Kennedy and Alexa Riley both got that part right. OTT BDSM (e.g., girls who like being debased while getting their sexy on) is not my cuppa.
  4. Alexa’s my go-to whenever I just need a break from all the crap I’ve been reading. I wonder if I’ll ever win anything from her give-aways. I always enter, but so far, it’s looking more like I’ll win the national lotto first before I get anything free from Alexa.
  5. I’ll keep reading Elle Kennedy’s books. What can I say? Even though I hated “One Night of Sin” (and I’m feeling the same regarding “One Night of Scandal”), I still like her other books (e.g., The Score, The Mistake, The Deal, etc.) and am looking forward to book #2 of her Outlaws series!
Screenshot 2016-06-27 19.47.54.png

Chaps… sigh

Oh, and I like chaps-wearing men.

Leave a Reply

