Review: Love and Protect by Naima Simone

Screenshot 2016-06-20 16.49.34.png

I liked the concept of this book. A strong, independent woman undergoes intense trauma after a security job went terribly wrong. She hides away to cope, until she was called back to security duty… to protect a man who was once her savior and only friend.

As this was an Ellora’s Cave book, I should’ve expected the hot, steamy scenes. I never thought I’d type these words, but… well, those hot, steamy scenes kinda took the story away from my really liking it. Hence, I settled on a 3 out of 5 stars rating. But, maybe that’s just me. If the book was stripped of some of the OTT scenes, then maybe it would have been a bit better, because the story was, while cliched, was actually quite good. Let this be a lesson to all: get to know the person you’re sleeping with. They may be psychos.

P.S. I was originally thinking of Jared Leto while reading about Sean. In the end, my mind started imagining the guy who holds the @peaceoot account on Instagram. Look him up. And, you’re welcome.

P.P.S. Meanwhile, my mind needed a counterpart to him, so I had to find a visual to represent Erin. Again, you’re welcome.

#BGKI #blackandkillingit #teamBGKI #beauty @anissavb

A post shared by Black Girls Killing It (@bgkionline) on

Leave a Reply

