Of learning to cook Chinese from Gordon Ramsay & The Pioneer Woman

I was seated in a chair, with my feet up on my bed, after a long day, ready to gorge on another episode of my favorite Food Network show, The Pioneer Woman. Suddenly, Ree Drummond said she’s cooking Chinese take-out food at the ranch. As a girl of Chinese heritage, my heart kinda stopped after hearing my heroine, the self-entitled ranch girl by accident, is cooking food that I grew up on (and will, most likely, die eating).

Screenshot 2016-06-15 11.56.14.png

The Pioneer Woman’s Chow Mein

That’s her Chow Mein there in that picture I captured from FN’s website. I would show you a comparative photo of my Chow Mein version, but… I’ve already eaten all of it before I thought of even taking a photo. Plus, the lighting sucks here in the flat. The only thing I can say? It’s damned good. Oh, and I would advise anyone who wishes to cook it to do so in a non-stick pan.

I was curious who else amongst my Caucasian cooking idols have cooked Chinese before. So, I browsed thru my collection: Ina Garten, no. Nigella Lawson, no. Giada de Laurentiis, hell, no. Bobby… and, voila, Gordon Ramsay’s Ultimate Cookery Course.

Screenshot 2016-06-15 12.11.11.png

Screenshot 2016-06-15 11.53.34.png

Gordon Ramsay’s Chicken Stir-Fry with Rice Noodles

Now, granted, that doesn’t look like Chow Mein, but the principles are the same. The reason why I don’t have an actual picture of my version of this, though? I didn’t cook it. I probably never will. It’s too… pale. Mr. Ramsay’s recipe calls for 2 tablespoons of soy sauce, but from a Chinese girl to you, it doesn’t look enough. Put a little bit more in. The noodles need that color.

Hence, for dinner tonight, I’ll be making a Frankenstein version of Mrs. Drummond and Mr. Ramsay’s noodles: Chicken Stir-Fry Chow Mein. Yumm-o!

Leave a Reply

