Review: Brotherhood in Death by J.D. Robb

bid.jpg

The incomparable J.D. Robb, a.k.a. Nora Roberts, is my all-time go-to author when I need to escape reality. I can’t believe it’s been 21 years since “Naked in Death,” the first of the “In Death” series, or what I always call my “Eve Dallas” books.21 years. That’s how long my fanaticism with J.D. Robb has been.

Her books come to life for me in my mind. They’re ALL real, I suppose, to every Robb fanatic: Lieutenant Dallas; her husband, Roarke; her partner, Detective Delia Peabody; her mentor, Captain Feeney; her best friend, Maven; etc. Her stories follow a formula: Homicide police lieutenant Dallas catches a case, Peabody helps her solve it, Roarke consults for her, everybody pitches in, and Dallas uses both her 12-year kick-ass cop experience and her gut instincts to get the baddies. The formula is an absolute no-fail. But each Dallas story is so very different from each other. There are 42 books so far, and none have failed to capture me. I keep awake at nights JUST so I can finish the book.

“Brotherhood in Death” tells the tale of a sick group of men who rape women as part of their “brotherhood” practices. In turn, they die one by one in the hands of some of the women they had harmed, abused, and hurt. Dallas is the lucky/unlucky cop who is tasked to catch the women before they finish off the brotherhood. If you’re a Dallas fan yourself, you’ll know that Eve Dallas has had her share of physical torture, childhood sexual abuse, heart ache, mental breakdown, and pain. All these are recounted in each “In Death” book – but it never gets tiring, not for me, at least. Like I said, each book is unique. If you get bored by them, there’s something seriously wrong with you, I think.

J.D. Robb manages to tell Dallas’ story in a practical way, where the story revolves around ethical, moral, and legal issues. They’re definitely not for the faint of heart. In every “In Death” book, I find myself putting myself in Dallas’ shoes: what would I do? And, in all honesty, I can’t say I would have the moral and physical fortitude to do what she does. Somehow, someway, J.D. Robb concludes each case and story into a happy ending, one that is very fitting to whom Dallas represents.

If you haven’t read any J.D. Robb book, here’s the complete list: http://fallintothestory.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/12/NRW-complete-original-print-dates-2016.pdf

Go. Get going. Read them. You won’t regret it. And, you’re welcome, in advance.

Leave a Reply

