Review: Evil by Tijan

Screenshot 2016-05-17 09.39.12

One of the weirdest books I’ve ever read. That’s how I’d describe Tijan’s “Evil.” I’ve read plenty of paranormal romances before: Nora Roberts‘ “Circle” Trilogy (amongst other magic-related stories she’s written), E.L. James “Twilight” series, almost all of Charlaine Harris’ “Sookie” books, to name a few. Admittedly, I haven’t read a paranormal romance in a few years. Abbi Glines’ “Ceaseless” was the last one I read, I think, and that only rated 3-stars in my opinion. I suppose I’ve outgrown the genre, and just cannot keep myself suspended in disbelief.

Upon reading the blurb of Tijan’s “Evil,” however, I couldn’t help but be intrigued. It’s definitely different from all the recent books I’ve been reading, so as soon as I’ve got it on my e-reader, I devoured it.

Okay, maybe “devoured” is a strong word, because I started, stopped, contemplated whether I should continue, forced myself to continue because I had to know how it ends, got confused, frustrated, and then just deleted it as soon as I read the end. I initially thought this was a “The Walking Dead” version of “Twilight.” You know, where it’s more gory, more sexy, more adult. Turns out: it’s not.

Gory? Yes, it is. Everyone dies in the book. So, yes, it’s a little like TWD. Sexy? No. Bits and pieces of the romance and lust between Kellan and Shay peek out, but — meh. Adult? Nope, it’s really just high school with demons and angels in it. How the story got from the beginning to the end was just a whole lotta “WTH is going on.” What I liked about my first Tijan book is it’s fast-paced. Her writing style is fluid and easy-to-read. She kept me wanting to know what happened next. I normally like twists that I could not predict. There were lots of those in “Evil,” but the same twists were just… forced, I think. They don’t “fit” well. They were abrupt, unbelievable, and psychopathic in nature. Yes, I know: “psychopathic” fits with “Evil.” But, I’m sorry, I just don’t buy the whole story’s revelation and ending.

Good should triumph over Evil, that’s what we all constantly hope for. In Tijan’s “Evil,” Evil won, ’cause I sure as hell don’t think Kellan and Shay are good.

Will I read another PR again? I doubt it. Unless Nora Roberts is writing it, that is.

4 thoughts on “Review: Evil by Tijan

Leave a Reply

