Review: The Anatomy of Jane by Amelia LeFay

Screenshot 2016-04-30 15.37.45

Thank you to the publisher who granted me an ARC of this new book. J.J. McAvoy called attention to it on her FB page recently, right after I’ve just finished swooning over “That Thing Between Eli and Gwen.” It was like a one-two punch that couldn’t be ignored. I discarded my Saturday plans and am now writing a review about Jane, Max, and Wesley for NetGalley, Goodreads, and here. (Insert a sip of wine at 2PM before proceeding.)

This is completely different from any of Ms. McAvoy’s books (hence, the pseudonym), and, TBH, I was surprised. It’s hard core, LGBT, BDSM, ménage à trois, heavy drama, with some grammatical errors thrown in (it is an ARC, after all), all rolled into one. In the dedication section of this book, Ms. LeFay thanked another author I’ve read and liked, Alessandra Torre, for encouraging her to write this story. I couldn’t help but thank Ms. Torre, too, because this story was different… “good” different, you know? It also has a cliffhanger for an ending, which, sadly I didn’t like, dammit. I now have to wait for Fall or Winter 2016, when hopefully, Ms. LeFay would publish the follow-up book and give us the 3 characters’ HEA.

In “The Anatomy of Jane,” Max and Wesley have been lovers for at least 4 years, before Jane enters into the picture. Jane blows both Max and Wesley away with her straight talk, bangin’ bod, and gung-ho attitude about life. They all love and lust for each other, even as they all struggle to keep life as normal as possible. At least, as “normal” as society deems it to be. Max is from a wealthy Bostonian political family, and appearances have to kept a certain way. Jane is insecure about her role in Max and Wesley’s lives. These are why they ultimately leave us hanging on what happens to their love story.

What I liked:
1. Jane, Max, and Wesley’s characters – they’re all flawed, but likable.
2. The plot line – I couldn’t predict where it was going. In my book, that’s what makes a book great.

What I didn’t like:
1. That the book ends on a cliffhanger
2. That part 2 is supposedly coming out in Fall or Winter of 2016, and it’s only April 30th
3. Normally, I’m not such a grammar Nazi, but the grammatical and spelling errors here threw me off at times that I had to re-read some passages twice or thrice to understand what’s going on. (Examples:
“She walked over quietly memorized by Max until she stood right by my chair.” —> Ms. LeFay meant “mesmerized by Max.”
“But you seducing her while I’m trying to immediate her is hardly a wise choice; don’t you think?” —> the author meant to say “intimidate her.”
Jane’s last name was often referred to as either “Chapman” or “Chapmen” – not a big deal, really, but after numerous times of reading it, my brain started to chafe.)

To wit: Fall/Winter of 2016, I can’t wait to see what you bring me as Ms. LeFay promised to tell us what happens in “The Anatomy of Us.”

Leave a Reply

