Review: Six of Hearts by L.H. Cosway

Screenshot 2016-04-22 07.07.54

Okay, I’m seeing a trend here: NEW AUTHOR TO LOVE!!! The first book of L.H. Cosway‘s I read and loved was a written collaboration she did with Penny Reid called, “The Hooker and the Hermit.” Their second book, “The Player and the Pixie” is already on my e-reader, and I can’t wait to sit down to it this weekend. To be honest, though, I don’t think I’ll be reading Ms. Cosway’s “The Ultimate Power” and “Florence Vaine” series, as I’m not a paranormal or urban fantasy fan, but her “Hearts” series is seriously getting me hooked.

Six of Hearts” is a heart-wrenching, poetic-justice type of love story. The hero, Jay, is an illusionist, who’s being maliciously maligned in a broadsheet/tabloid about him supposedly killing someone after testing out a magic trick. He deliberately seeks out the legal services of a man to help him sue the crap out of the publication. Turns out the solicitor’s daughter, Matilda, is one of his “six hearts.” They have a complicated and tear-jerking back-story together, which is a surprise revealed at the end. Matilda and Jay’s story is unconventional, but relatable (which is one of my two ultimate tests of whether a book is recommendable). There’s drama, comedy, angst, and sorrow all combined. Seriously, this series is going to be E-P-I-C, for me.

P.S. The second ultimate test of whether a book is recommendable or not? If I don’t roll my eyes while reading the book, it’s good.

Leave a Reply

