Review: Hawke by Sawyer Bennett

Screenshot 2016-04-08 12.06.11.png

I’ve been a Sawyer Bennett and Cold Fury fan, ever since the series started. “Hawke” is the ABSOLUTE WORST of Sawyer’s books. Reasons why I hated it:
1. Vale – the irritating, insipid, cheating, and feckless heroine

2. The plot line – predictable. Vale abruptly broke up with Hawke when they were 20, because her boyfriend wouldn’t leave a party with her when she complained of a menstrual cramp. Turns out she was miscarrying their baby. Both Hawke and Vale hated her ER doctor, who was supposedly condescending when the doctor told Vale she lost the baby due to excessive partying. Well, HELLO?????!!!!

3. The transition from “Ryker” to “Hawke” – Hawke was not even mentioned in the previous books in the series, so I don’t know why he even has a book. His back story with Vale is just over-dramatic and reminds me of “One Tree Hill” too much… after I started hating that TV series.

I “finished” this 275-page book in less than 7 hours, because I (rightfully) skipped many paragraphs, INCLUDING the unsurprising sexy scenes, which I thought were just there for the heck of it. They occurred in spots where it was just awkward to have them. Vale’s dad was confined to the hospital – sex. Vale’s dad wanted Vale to stop hovering over him – sex. I mean, come on.

I’ll still read the next book in this series, “Max,” which I thought shoulda been the book after Ryker. But, PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE, Sawyer Bennett, let it be better than “Hawke.” Thanks!

Leave a Reply

